Leica/CCP - Documentary Photography Exhibition + Award

Exhibition: 16 January to 9 February, 2002

Trent Parke
© Copyright: Trent Parke

View Portfolio

The Leica/CCP Documentary Photography Exhibition and Award is a biennial showcase of contemporary Australian documentary photography and since 1997 has represented a unique initiative in the support of such work. The exhibition recognises the key influence of photography on our lives and examines the power and effect of the medium through the presentation of work in essay format, assessing the themes, styles and ideas which characterise documentary photography today.

The exhibition presents the work of fifteen finalists selected from over 250 entries by a panel of artists and arts professionals. The work explores a range of themes including multi-culturalism, homelessness and political reportage. From Matthew Sleeth's documentation of Australia's public relations 'Tour of Duty' in East Timor, to Steven Lojewski's delicate portraits of the urban environment, the Leica/CCP Documentary Photography Exhibition & Award continues to provide a fascinating entry point into the variety of approaches and concerns which characterise contemporary documentary practice.


Narelle Autio, Alex Cyreszko, Agnes T Earl, Ashley Gilbertson, Steven Lojewski, Sam McQuillan, Simon O'Dwyer, Trent Parke, Stephen Rooke, Dean Sewell, Steven Siewert, Matthew Sleeth, Tamara Voninski, Sandra Walker and Marzena Wasikowska.


Isobel Crombie (Senior Curator, National Gallery of Victoria), Rosemary Laing (Sydney-based artist) and Emmanuel Santos (Melbourne-based documentary photographer).

After being shown at Stills the exhibition will tour to capital city and regional galleries around Australia until early 2003.

The Leica/CCP Exhibition and Award is generously sponsored by Leica. The project is supported by the Victorian Government's Touring Victoria program through Arts Victoria &endash; Department of Premier and Cabinet, and has received development assistance from NETS Victoria's Exhibitions Development Fund Grant, supported by the Community Support Fund through Arts Victoria and the VACF of the Australia Council.